Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 76

Thursday, June 8, 2000

The Standing Committee on Finance met at 11:16 a.m. this day, in Room 269, West Block, the Chair, Maurizio Bevilacqua, presiding.

Members of the Committee present: Roy Cullen, Ken Epp, Sophia Leung, Karen Redman and Paul Szabo.

Acting Members present: Antoine Dubé for Richard Marceau, John Herron for Scott Brison.

In attendance: From the Library of Parliament: Blayne Haggart, Researcher.

Witnesses: From the Industry Canada: Ninon Charlebois, Director, Briefing and Strategic Management; Brian Derick, Senior Advisor. From the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade: Jean E. Saint-Jacques, Director, Trade Remedies Division, Trade Policy I: General Trade Policy bureau; Robert Shaw-Wood, Deputy Director, Export Finance Division, Trade Commissioner Service Planning and Policy. From the Export Development Corporation: Daniel Primeau, Relationship Manager, Transportation Group.

The Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-213, An Act to promote shipbuilding, 1999 (See Minutes of Proceedings, Wednesday, May 31, 2000, Meeting No. 74).

Ninon Charlebois made a statement and, with the other witnesses, answered questions.

At 1:08 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Pat Steenberg

Clerk of the Committee