Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 69

Tuesday, May 30, 2000

The Standing Committee on Finance met at 11:09 a.m. this day, in Room 308, West Block, the Chair, Maurizio Bevilacqua, presiding.

Members of the Committee present: Maurizio Bevilacqua, Roy Cullen, Ken Epp, Roger Gallaway, Sophia Leung, Yvan Loubier, the Hon. Lorne Nystrom, Gary Pillitteri, Karen Redman and Paul Szabo.

In attendance: From the Library of Parliament: Jean Soucy, Researcher.

Witnesses: From Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada: Andrew Graham, Assistant Deputy Minister, Corporate Services Branch; Jean Chartier, Vice-President, Public and Regulatory Affairs, Canadian Food Inspection Agency; Reg Gosselin, Director, Corporate Services Division, Canadian Grain Commission. From the Office of the Auditor General of Canada: L. Denis Desautels, Auditor General of Canada; Neil Maxwell, Principal, Audit Operations. From the Canadian Animal Health Institute: Jean Szkotnicki, President. From Bayer Canada Inc.: Don Wilson, Director, Technical Services, Regulatory Affairs. From the Canadian Federation of Independent Business: Garth Whyte, Senior Vice-President, National Affairs; Rob Meijer, Agri-Business Policy Analyst. From the Crop Protection Institute: Charles D. Milne, Vice-President, Government Affairs. From BASF Canada Inc.: Terry J. Hanson, Business Director, Agriculture Products.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2), the Committee resumed its study on Cost Recovery (See Minutes of Proceedings, Tuesday, May 9, 2000, Meeting No. 54).

Andrew Graham, Jean Chartier, Reg Gosselin, Denis Desautels, Jean Szkotnicki, Don Wilson, Garth Whyte, Rob Meijer, Charles Milne and Terry Hanson made statements and with the other witnesses in the roundtable, answered questions.

At 1:12 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Pat Steenberg

Clerk of the Committee