Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 66

Thursday, May 18, 2000

The Standing Committee on Finance met at 9:15 a.m. this day, in Room 209, West Block, the Chair, Maurizio Bevilacqua, presiding.

Member of the Committee present: Maurizio Bevilacqua, Scott Brison, Roy Cullen, Roger Gallaway, Albina Guarnieri.

Acting Members present: Bryon Wilfert for Sophia Leung; Gary Lunn for Richard Harris and Paul Forseth for Ken Epp.

In attendance: From the Library of Parliament: Marion Wrobel, Senior Analyst.

Witnesses: As Individual: Michael Mailman, Digital Harbour Venture Management. From Industry Canada: Ross MacLeod, Director, Policy Integration; Frank C. Lee, Acting Associate Director, Innovation Analysis Unit /MEPA; Jeanne E. Inch, Director, Marketplace Innovation; Martin Green, Director, Economic Policy Framework; Peter Ferguson, Manager, Policy Research and Coordination.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2), the Committee proceeded to consider the New Economy.

Ross MacLeod, Frank Lee, Jeanne Inch, Martin Green, Peter Ferguson and Michael Mailman made statements.

At 10:12 o’clock, a.m., Albina Guarnieri took the Chair.

At 10:14 o’clock, a.m., the Chair, Maurizion Bevilacqua, took the Chair.

Members asked questions of the witnesses.

At 11:29 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Pat Steenberg

Clerk of the Committee