Skip to main content

ENVI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 51

Thursday, October 5, 2000

The Standing Committee on Environment and Sustainable Development met at 9:17 a.m. this day, in Room 308, West Block for the purpose of electing a Chair and a Vice-Chair, pursuant to Standing Orders 106(1) and 106(2).

Members of the Committee present: Charles L. Caccia, Aileen Carroll, Marlene Catterall, Jocelyne Girard-Bujold, Rahim Jaffer, Gar Knutson, David Pratt, David Price, Karen Redman and Julian Reed.

Acting Member present: Peter Adams for Karen Kraft Sloan.

In attendance: From the Library of Parliament: Kristen Douglas and Christine Labelle, Research Officers.

The Clerk of the Committee presided over the election of a Chair.

On motion of Gar Knutson, it was agreed, - That Charles Caccia do take the Chair of the Committee.

Accordingly, Charles Caccia was duly elected Chair of the Committee and took the Chair.

On motion of Aileen Carroll, it was agreed, - That Karen Kraft Sloan be elected Vice-Chair of the Committee.

On motion of Jocelyne Girard-Bujold, it was agreed, - That Rahim Jaffer be elected Vice-Chair of the Committee.

Karen Redman moved - That the Committee do adjourn.

The question was put on the motion and it was agreed to.

At 9:22 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Stephen Knowles
Clerk of the Committee