Skip to main content

ENVI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 42

Thursday, June 8, 2000

The Standing Committee on Environment and Sustainable Development met at 9:07 a.m. this day, in Room 112-N, Centre Block, the Chair, Charles L. Caccia, presiding.

Members of the Committee present: Charles L. Caccia, David Chatters, Jocelyne Girard-Bujold, John Herron, Karen Kraft Sloan and Julian Reed.

Acting Member present: Daniel Turp for Jocelyne Girard-Bujold.

Associate Member present: Aileen Carroll.

In attendance: From the Library of Parliament: Monique Hébert, Christine Labelle and Linda Webster, Researchers.

Witnesses: From the Natural Resources Canada: Sue Kirby, Acting Associate Assistant Deputy Minister, Energy Sector; Neil MacLeod, Director General, Office of Energy Efficiency, Energy Sector; Frank Campbell, Director, CANMET Energy Technology Centre, Energy Sector; Jim Campbell, Director, Economic and Fiscal Analysis Division, Energy Sector; Ian McGregor, Deputy Head, The Climate Change Secretariat; Dave Burpee, Director, Renewable & Electrical Energy Division, Energy Sector.

The Committee discussed its future business.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2), the Committee resumed consideration of issues concerning the 6th Conference of the Parties to the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (See Minutes of Proceedings, Tuesday, May 2, 2000 (Meeting No. 36)).

Sue Kirby and Ian McGregor made statements and with David Burpee and Neil MacLeod answered questions.

At 10:51 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Stephen Knowles
Clerk of the Committee