Skip to main content

ENVI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 41

Thursday, June 1st, 2000

The Standing Committee on Environment and Sustainable Development met at 9:08 a.m. this day, in Room 112-N, Centre Block, the Chair, Charles L. Caccia, presiding.

Members of the Committee present: Charles L. Caccia, Marlene Catterall, Jocelyne Girard-Bujold, John Herron, Rahim Jaffer, Karen Kraft Sloan and Paddy Torsney.

Acting Members present: Marlene Jennings for Joe Jordan and Aileen Carroll for Walt Lastewka

In attendance: From the Library of Parliament: Monique Hébert, Researcher.

Witnesses: From the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade: David Drake, Acting Director General, International Environmental Affairs Bureau, Co-Head of the Canadian Delegation to the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change; Sushma Gera, Deputy Director and Head, Clean Development Mechanism and Joint Implementation Office, Climate Change and Energy Division. From Environment Canada: Wayne Moore, Director, Climate Change International.

The Committee discussed its future business.

By unanimous consent it was agreed, - That the Committee examine issues relating to the NAFTA Commission on Environmental Co-operation and that the Executive Director and other appropriate persons be called as witnesses.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2), the Committee commenced consideration of issues concerning the 6th Conference of the Parties to the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (See Minutes of Proceedings, Tuesday, May 2, 2000 (Meeting No. 36)).

David Drake and Wayne Moore made statements and, with Sushma Gera, answered questions.

At 11:02 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Stephen Knowles
Clerk of the Committee