Skip to main content

ENVI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 23

Thursday, February 17, 2000

The Standing Committee on Environment and Sustainable Development met in camera at 9:18 a.m. this day, in Room 308, West Block, the Chair, Charles L. Caccia, presiding.

Members of the Committee present: Charles L. Caccia, Marlene Catterall, David Chatters, Jocelyne Girard-Bujold, Dennis Gruending, Karen Kraft Sloan, Julian Reed, Paddy Torsney.

Acting Members present: Clifford Lincoln for Joe Jordan, Aileen Carroll for David Pratt and Bob Mills for Rahim Jaffer.

In attendance: From the Library of Parliament: Monique Hébert; Christine Labelle and Linda Webster, Research Officers.

Appearing: The Honourable Allan Rock, Minister of Health.

Witnesses: From Pest Management Regulatory Agency: Dr. Claire Franklin, Executive Director. From Health Canada: Rod Raphael, Acting Director General, Environmental Health Directorate, Health Protection Branch.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108 (2), the Committee resumed its study on the management and use of pesticides in Canada including an evaluation of the performance of the Pest Management Regulatory Agency in preventing pollution and in protecting the environment and human health (See Minutes of Proceedings, Tuesday, October 26,1999 (Meeting no. 1)).

The Committee resumed consideration of a draft report.

At 9:47 a.m., the Committee proceeded to sit in public.

The Minister made a statement and with Dr. Claire Franklin answered questions.

At 11:03 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.





Stephen Knowles
Clerk of the Committee