Skip to main content

ENVI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 10

Tuesday, November 30, 1999

The Standing Committee on Environment and Sustainable Development met at 9:15 a.m. this day, in Room 371, West Block, the Vice-Chair, Karen Kraft Sloan, presiding.

Members of the Committee present: Jocelyne Girard-Bujold, Rahim Jaffer, Joe Jordan, Karen Kraft Sloan, David Pratt, Julian Reed.

In attendance: From the Library of Parliament: Christine Labelle, Research Officer.

Witnesses: From the Municipality of Chelsea: Judy Grant, Mayor. From the Federation of Canadian Municipalities: Brian Detzler, Team Leader, Community Development and Programming for Recreation & Leisure Service - City of Waterloo. From Citizens for Alternatives to Pesticides: Merryl Hammond, Founder. From Action Chelsea for the Respect of the Environment: Andrea Lockwood, Coordinator, Noah Fuad, Coordinator. From Nature-Action Quebec: Edith Smeesters, President.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108 (2), the Committee resumed its study on the management and use of pesticides in Canada including an evaluation of the performance of the Pest Management Regulatory Agency in preventing pollution and in protecting the environment and human health (See Minutes of Proceedings, Tuesday, October 26,1999 (Meeting no. 1)).

Mayor Judy Grant, Brian Detzler, Dr. Merryl Hammond, Andrea Lockwood and Edith Smeesters made statements and with Dr. Noah Fuad answered questions.

At 11:07 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.





Stephen Knowles
Clerk of the Committee