Skip to main content

HESA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

Meeting No. 58
Tuesday, April 28, 2015

The Standing Committee on Health met at 3:30 p.m. this day, in Room 228, The Valour Building, the Chair, Ben Lobb, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Hon. Hedy Fry, Wladyslaw Lizon, Ben Lobb, Cathy McLeod, Christine Moore, Murray Rankin and Terence Young.


Acting Members present: Stella Ambler for Lawrence Toet, Alex Atamanenko for Matthew Kellway and Cheryl Gallant for David Wilks.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Havi Echenberg, Analyst; Marlisa Tiedemann, Analyst.


Witnesses: As individuals: Carmen Krogh, Independent Health Researcher; Beth Harrington, Independent Health Researcher; Riina Bray, Medical Director, Environmental Health Clinic, Women’s College Hospital, Maple, Ontario; Anne-Marie Nicol, Assistant Professor, Faculty of Health Sciences, Simon Fraser University. Canadian Wireless Telecommunications Association: Bernard Lord, President and Chief Executive Officer; Kurt Eby, Director, Regulatory Affairs. Environmental Health Trust: Devra Davis, President and Founder. As an individual: Martha Herbert, Assistant Professor Neurology, Harvard Medical School, Massachusetts General Hospital. Canadians For Safe Technology: Frank Clegg, Chief Executive Officer, C4ST.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Tuesday, February 24, 2015, the Committee resumed its study of Health Canada Safety Code 6.

Riina Bray, by videoconference from Toronto, Ontario, Anne-Marie Nicol, by videoconference from Vancouver, British Columbia, and Carmen Krogh made statements and, with Beth Harrington, answered questions.


At 4:24 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:28 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Martha Herbert, by videoconference from Cambridge, Massachusetts, and Devra Davis and Bernard Lord made statements and answered questions.


At 5:18 p.m., by unanimous consent and pursuant to Standing Order 115(5), it was agreed that the Committee continue to sit.


At 5:20 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Andrew Bartholomew Chaplin
Clerk of the Committee

2015/05/05 8:40 a.m.