Skip to main content

OGGO Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

Meeting No. 18
Thursday, November 24, 2011

The Standing Committee on Government Operations and Estimates met in a televised session at 3:29 p.m. this day, in Room C-110, 1 Wellington Street, the Chair, Pat Martin, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Scott Armstrong, Denis Blanchette, Alexandre Boulerice, Peter Braid, Ron Cannan, Jacques Gourde, Pat Martin, Mathieu Ravignat and Mike Wallace.


Acting Members present: Sean Casey for Hon. John McCallum, Hon. Laurie Hawn for Bernard Trottier, Andrew Saxton for Kelly Block and Scott Simms for Hon. John McCallum.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Tina Lise LeGresley, Analyst; Lindsay McGlashan, Analyst.


Appearing: Hon. Tony Clement, President of the Treasury Board and Minister for the Federal Economic Development Initiative for Northern Ontario.


Witnesses: Treasury Board Secretariat: Michelle d'Auray, Secretary of the Treasury Board of Canada; Bill Matthews, Assistant Secretary, Expenditure Management; Sally Thornton, Executive Director, Expenditure Operations and Estimates, Expenditure Management; Christine Walker, Assistant Secretary and Chief Financial Officer, Corporate Services.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(3)(c)(viii), the Committee commenced consideration of the Supplementary Estimates (B) 2011-2012 referred to the Committee on Thursday, November 3, 2011.

The Minister made a statement and, with the other witnesses, answered questions.


At 4:33 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:35 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Bill Matthews made a statement and, with the other witnesses, answered questions.


Alexandre Boulerice moved, — That the Committee continue to sit in public.


The question was put on the motion and it was negatived on the following recorded division:YEAS: Denis Blanchette, Alexandre Boulerice, Mathieu Ravignat, Scott Simms — 4; NAYS: Scott Armstrong, Peter Braid, Ron Cannan, Jacques Gourde, Laurie Hawn, Andrew Saxton, Mike Wallace — 7.


At 5:21 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 5:22 p.m., the Committee resumed sitting in camera.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

It was agreed, — That, notwithstanding the motion adopted on June 9, 2011, the Subcommittee on Agenda and Procedure be composed of the Chair and the two Vice-Chairs of the Committee, one additional member from the Official Opposition as well as two additional members from the government party, to be chosen by the whips of the political parties in question.


At 5:23 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Marc-Olivier Girard
Clerk of the Committee

2011/11/30 11:49 a.m.