Skip to main content

ENVI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

Meeting No. 49
Monday, October 29, 2012

The Standing Committee on Environment and Sustainable Development met at 3:30 p.m. this day, in Room 268, La Promenade Building, the Chair, Mark Warawa, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Stella Ambler, François Choquette, Kirsty Duncan, Megan Anissa Leslie, James Lunney, François Pilon, Anne Minh-Thu Quach, Michelle Rempel, Robert Sopuck, Lawrence Toet, Mark Warawa and Stephen Woodworth.


Acting Members present: Hon. Mark Eyking for Kirsty Duncan.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Penny Becklumb, Analyst.


Witnesses: Canadian Parks and Wilderness Society: Oliver Kent, President. Grand River Conservation Authority: Lorrie Minshall, Director, Water Management Plan. City of Winnipeg: Rodney Penner, City Naturalist, Naturalist Services.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2), and the motion adopted by the Committee on Monday, October 1, 2012, the Committee resumed its study of urban conservation practices in Canada.

Oliver Kent, Lorrie Minshall and Rodney Penner, by videoconference from Winnipeg, Manitoba, made statements and answered questions.


At 5:01 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 5:05 p.m., the sitting resumed.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

Mark Eyking moved, — That the Committee undertake a study of the subject matter of Part 4 Division 21 of Bill C-45, A second Act to implement certain provisions of the budget tabled in Parliament on March 29, 2012 and other measures, and report its findings to the House no later than on Monday, November 5, 2012.


Michelle Rempel moved, — That the Committee proceed to sit in camera.


The question was put on the motion and it was agreed to on the following recorded division: YEAS: Stella Ambler, James Lunney, Michelle Rempel, Robert Sopuck, Lawrence Toet, Stephen Woodworth — 6; NAYS: François Choquette, Mark Eyking, Megan Anissa Leslie, François Pilon, Anne Minh-Thu Quach — 5.


At 5:07 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 5:08 p.m., the sitting resumed in camera.


At 5:17 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Marie-France Renaud
Clerk of the Committee

2012/10/30 9:04 a.m.