Skip to main content

HESA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

Meeting No. 54
Tuesday, March 24, 2015

The Standing Committee on Health met at 3:31 p.m. this day, in Room 228, The Valour Building, the Chair, Ben Lobb, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Hon. Hedy Fry, Wladyslaw Lizon, Ben Lobb, James Lunney, Cathy McLeod, Christine Moore, Murray Rankin, David Wilks and Terence Young.


Acting Members present: Alex Atamanenko for Murray Rankin and Djaouida Sellah for Matthew Kellway.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Havi Echenberg, Analyst; Marlisa Tiedemann, Analyst.


Witnesses: Department of Health: Andrew Adams, Director General, Environmental and Radiation Health Sciences Directorate; James McNamee, Chief, Health Effects and Assessments Division, Healthy Environments and Consumer Safety Branch. Department of Industry: Peter Hill, Director General, Spectrum Management Operations Branch; Dan Duguay, Director General, Engineering, Planning and Standards Branch. As individuals: Paul Demers, Director, Occupational Cancer Research Centre, Cancer Care Ontario; Frank Prato, Imaging Program Leader, Lawson Health Research Institute; Meg Sears, Adjunct Investigator, Children's Hospital of Eastern Ontario Research Institute; Martin Blank, Special Lecturer, Department of Physiology and Cellular Biophysics, Columbia University.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Tuesday, February 24, 2015, the Committee commenced its study of Health Canada Safety Code 6.

Andrew Adams, Frank Prato, by videoconference from London, Ontario, and Paul Demers made statements and, with Dan Duguay, Peter Hill and James McNamee, answered questions.


At 4:41 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:44 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Meg Sears and Martin Blank made statements and answered questions.


At 5:33 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Andrew Bartholomew Chaplin
Clerk of the Committee

2015/04/28 10:47 a.m.