Skip to main content

FEWO Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

Meeting No. 28
Wednesday, April 4, 2012

The Standing Committee on the Status of Women met at 3:30 p.m. this day, in Room 228, La Promenade Building, the Chair, Irene Mathyssen, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Dan Albas, Stella Ambler, Joyce Bateman, Marjolaine Boutin-Sweet, Ruth Ellen Brosseau, Mylène Freeman, Roxanne James, Irene Mathyssen, Hon. Judy Sgro, Susan Truppe and Wai Young.


Acting Members present: Patricia Davidson for Susan Truppe and Mark Strahl for Dan Albas.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Havi Echenberg, Analyst; Laura Munn-Rivard, Analyst.


Witnesses: DisAbled Women's Network of Canada: Bonnie Brayton, National Executive Director. Canadian Council on Social Development: Peggy Taillon, President and Chief Executive Officer. National Centre for First Nations Governance: Jocelyne Wasacase-Merasty, Regional Manager, Prairie Region. First People's House: Paige Isaac, Coordinator.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Wednesday, February 1, 2012, the Committee resumed its study of improving economic prospects for Canadian girls.

Bonnie Brayton and Peggy Taillon made statements and answered questions.


At 4:20 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:22 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Jocelyne Wasacase-Merasty, by videoconference from Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, and Paige Isaac, by videoconference from Montréal, Québec, made statements and answered questions.


At 5:17 p.m., by unanimous consent and pursuant to Standing Order 115(5), it was agreed that the Committee continue to sit.


At 5:18 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Marlene Sandoval
Clerk of the Committee

2012/04/05 10:14 a.m.