Skip to main content

CHPC Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

Meeting No. 24
Tuesday, April 3, 2012

The Standing Committee on Canadian Heritage met at 11:07 a.m. this day, in Room 8-53, 131 Queen Street, the Chair, the Hon. Rob Moore, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Tyrone Benskin, Marjolaine Boutin-Sweet, Gordon Brown, Paul Calandra, Andrew Cash, Parm Gill, Jim Hillyer, Hon. Rob Moore, Pierre Nantel and Terence Young.


Acting Members present: Randy Hoback for Scott Armstrong and Joyce Murray for Scott Simms.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Michael Dewing, Analyst; Marion Ménard, Analyst.


Witnesses: Canadian Museums Association: John McAvity, Executive Director; Kirstin Evenden, Vice-President of the Board, President and Chief Executive Officer, Glenbow Museum; Benoît Légaré, Board Member, Director, Museology Mécénat conseil inc. Confederation Centre of the Arts: Jessie Inman, Chief Executive Officer. Société des musées québécois: Pierre Landry, President.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Tuesday, September 27, 2011, the Committee resumed its study of Canada's 150th anniversary in 2017.

John McAvity, Kirstin Evenden, Benoît Légaré, Jessie Inman and Pierre Landry made statements and answered questions.


At 12:59 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 1:01 p.m., the sitting resumed in camera.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

It was agreed, — That in all cases where Order-in-Council appointments are referred to the Standing Committee, the Clerk shall seek Curriculum Vitae and other available documentation in accordance with Standing Order 111(4), and shall distribute them to all Committee Members at the earliest possibility.


At 1:05 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Christine Holke David
Clerk of the Committee

2012/10/11 4:07 p.m.