Skip to main content

e-2092 (Criminal justice system)

Initiated by Lesslie Askin from New Westminster, British Columbia

Original language of petition: English

Petition to the House of Commons

  • SNC-Lavalin (Inc) executives have faced numerous prosecutions and convictions for bribery, fraud and money laundering;
  • SNC-Lavalin recently lobbied federal government officials heavily for a deferred prosecution (or "remediation") agreement regarding a multi-million dollar criminal case against the company;
  • The Prime Minister removed Jody Wilson-Raybould as Attorney General on January 14th;
  • Wilson-Raybould resigned as Minister of Veterans Affairs amidst allegations that the Prime Minister's Office (PMO) had pressured her to assist SNC-Lavalin in avoiding criminal prosecution;
  • The Prime Minister’s Principal Secretary, Gerald Butts, subsequently also resigned on February 19th;
  • Despite the fact that constitutionally an Attorney General is the legal representative of the people of Canada, Wilson-Raybould remained subject to full solicitor-client privilege and cabinet confidentiality until OIC 2019-0105 was issued on February 25th;
  • On February 27th Wilson-Raybould testified to the House Standing Committee on Justice and Human Rights that for approximately four months she had been subjected to "political interference" by various government officials; and
  • Canadians are entitled to substantive public disclosure concerning the legal and ethical significance of these events and allegations.
We, the undersigned, residents and citizens of Canada, call upon the Leader of the Government in the House of Commons to (a) completely waive all solicitor-client privilege and cabinet confidentiality, so Jody Wilson-Raybould may speak openly about the SNC-Lavalin matter; and (b) launch a public inquiry, under the Canada Inquiries Act, into whether either the Prime Minister's Office or the Prime Minister politically interfered in the court case against SNC-Lavalin.
Open for signature
March 1, 2019, at 3:00 p.m. (EDT)
Closed for signature
June 29, 2019, at 3:00 p.m. (EDT)
Photo - Peter Julian
New Westminster—Burnaby
New Democratic Party Caucus
British Columbia