Skip to main content
Start of content

CHPC Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

44th Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 117
Thursday, May 2, 2024, 3:34 p.m. to 5:43 p.m.
Kevin Waugh, Vice-Chair (Conservative)

Library of Parliament
• Dana Fan, Analyst
• Marion Ménard, Analyst
• Liane Tanguay, Analyst
As an individual
• Ian Brodie, Professor, University of Calgary
Egale Canada
• Bennett Jensen, Director of Legal
Fédération des associations de juristes d'expression française de common law inc.
• Justin E. Kingston, President
• Rénald Rémillard, Director General
Fédération des communautés francophones et acadienne du Canada
• Liane Roy, President
The Canadian Bar Association
• Jennifer Khor, Chair, Access to Justice subcommittee
Pursuant to the order of reference of Wednesday, November 22, 2023, the committee resumed consideration of Bill C-316, An Act to amend the Department of Canadian Heritage Act (Court Challenges Program).

It was agreed, — That the committee request that the Department of Canadian Heritage provide a copy of the contribution agreement with the University of Ottawa and that Bell Canada Enterprises provide their written responses to questions asked during the meeting of Thursday, April 11, by Monday, May 6, 2024.

The witnesses made statements and answered questions.

At 3:56 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:00 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Questioning of the witnesses resumed.

Taleeb Noormohamed gave notice of the following motion:

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2), the committee undertake a study of no less than 4 meetings to study the concerning rise in far-right extremism in Canada, that study include how far right extremism plays a role in misinformation and disinformation; how to better support preventable measures for ideologically motivated extremism in Canada and the connection between far-right extremism and harassment towards journalists, women, Indigenous Peoples, Black, and racialized communities, members of the 2SLGBTQI+ community and religious minorities; that the committee report it’s findings and recommendations to the House; and that pursuant to Standing Order 109, the committee request that the government table a comprehensive response to the report.

Questioning of the witnesses resumed.


Rachael Thomas moved, — Given that,

according to a National Post article published on April 17th, a York University faculty committee has presented a list of antisemitic recommendations that include labelling the support of Israel as “anti-Palestinian racism”; classifying anyone who supports Israel as “anti-Palestinian, Islamophobic, and anti-Arab”; granting academic freedom and free speech to pro-Palestinian students, while revoking these same rights from Jewish students and anyone supportive of Israel; and identifying Zionism as “a settler colonial project and ethno-religious ideology” that should be isolated and destroyed, and that;

The Government of Canada has committed to the Canada Anti-Racism Strategy;

The Minister of Canadian Heritage is responsible for “fostering and promoting Canadian identity and values, cultural development, and heritage”;

The 2024 Canadian universities antisemitism report highlights the “serious problems our universities have with antisemitism, anti-Zionism and anti-Jewish hate”;

The Committee unequivocally condemn the antisemitic conduct of this faculty committee at York University and report this to the House.

Debate arose thereon.

At 5:43 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Geneviève Desjardins
Clerk of the committee