Skip to main content

PROC Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

43rd Parliament, 2nd Session
Meeting 29
Thursday, June 10, 2021, 11:06 a.m. to 1:17 p.m.
Ruby Sahota, Chair (Liberal)

• Darren Fisher for Hon. Ginette Petitpas Taylor (Liberal)
• Mike Kelloway for Hon. Kirsty Duncan (Liberal)
• Wayne Long for Mark Gerretsen (Liberal)
• Christine Normandin for Alain Therrien (Bloc Québécois)
Library of Parliament
• Andre Barnes, Analyst
• Laurence Brosseau, Analyst
• Hon. Dominic LeBlanc, P.C., M.P., President of the Queen’s Privy Council for Canada and Minister of Intergovernmental Affairs
Privy Council Office
• Manon Paquet, Director, Special Projects, Democratic Institutions Secretariat
• Allen Sutherland, Assistant Secretary to the Cabinet, Office of the Deputy Secretary to Cabinet (Governance)
Pursuant to the order of reference of Tuesday, May 11, 2021, the committee commenced consideration of Bill C-19, An Act to amend the Canada Elections Act (COVID-19 response).

The Minister made a statement and, with the other witnesses, answered questions.

Pursuant to Standing Order 115(5), it was agreed that the committee continue to sit.

At 12:06 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:25 p.m., the sitting resumed in camera.

Pursuant to Standing Order 32(7) and the motion adopted by the committee on Thursday, November 5, 2020, the committee resumed its study of the government’s reasons for proroguing Parliament in August 2020.

The committee resumed consideration of a draft report.

The committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to committee business.

It was agreed, — That the chief electoral officer, Stéphane Perrault, be invited to appear at the committee at 11 a.m. on Thursday, June 17, 2021, on Bill C-19 .

It was agreed, — That the committee commence clause by clause consideration of Bill C-19 on Thursday, June 17, 2021.

It was agreed, — That committee members submit their amendments to Bill C-19 to the Clerk of the Committee by 3 p.m. on Monday, June 14, 2021.

It was agreed, — That committee members submit their dissenting or supplementary opinions for the prorogation report, in both official language, to the clerk of the committee by 3 p.m. on Thursday, June 17, 2021.

At 1:17 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Justin Vaive
Clerk of the Committee