Skip to main content

INAN Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

43rd Parliament, 2nd Session
Meeting 15
Tuesday, February 2, 2021, 11:04 a.m. to 12:58 p.m.
Bob Bratina, Chair (Liberal)

• Raquel Dancho for Cathy McLeod (Conservative)
• Jenny Kwan for Rachel Blaney (NDP)
• Christine Normandin for Sylvie Bérubé (Bloc Québécois)
Library of Parliament
• Sara Fryer, Analyst
• Olivier Leblanc-Laurendeau, Analyst
As an individual
• Éric Cardinal
Assembly of First Nations
• Regional Chief Marlene Poitras, Alberta Association
Congress of Aboriginal Peoples
• National Chief Elmer St. Pierre
Native Women's Association of Canada
• Lorraine Whitman, President
Pursuant to the order of reference of Thursday, December 10, 2020, the committee resumed consideration of Bill C-8, An Act to amend the Citizenship Act (Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada's call to action number 94).

Marlene Poitras made a statement and answered questions.

At 12:02 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:04 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Elmer St. Pierre, Lorraine Whitman and Éric Cardinal made statements and answered questions.


Arnold Viersen moved, — That pursuant to standing order 108(2) the committee undertake a study on the cancellation of the Keystone XL pipeline and the potential loss of the Line 5 pipeline in northern and Indigenous communities, that the study take into account but not be limited to the impact on Indigenous businesses, jobs, economic prosperity, self-determination, and mutual benefit agreements as well as the efforts of the federal government to reduce greenhouse gas emissions, and that the committee report its findings to the House.

After debate, the question was put on the motion and it was negatived on division.

At 12:58 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Naaman Sugrue
Clerk of the Committee