Skip to main content
Start of content

AGRI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

43rd Parliament, 2nd Session
Meeting 29
Thursday, April 29, 2021, 3:29 p.m. to 5:30 p.m.
Pat Finnigan, Chair (Liberal)

• Damien C. Kurek for Warren Steinley (Conservative)
• Philip Lawrence for Lianne Rood (Conservative)
• Hon. Geoff Regan for Francis Drouin (Liberal)
Library of Parliament
• Corentin Bialais, Analyst
• Daniel Farrelly, Analyst
As an individual
• Dr. Sylvain Charlebois, Professor, Dalhousie University, Director, Agri-Food Analytics Lab
Advanced Biofuels Canada
• Fred Ghatala, Director, Carbon and Sustainability
Canadian Federation of Independent Business
• Jasmin Guénette, Vice-President, National Affairs
• Virginia Labbie, Senior Policy Analyst, Agri-Business
David Suzuki Foundation
• Tom L. Green, Senior Climate Policy Advisor
The Pembina Institute
• Isabelle Turcotte, Director, Federal Policy
Pursuant to the order of reference of Wednesday, February 24, 2021 and the motion adopted by the committee on Thursday, February 25, 2021, the committee resumed consideration of Bill C-206, An Act to amend the Greenhouse Gas Pollution Pricing Act (qualifying farming fuel).

Sylvain Charlebois, Tom L. Green and Isabelle Turcotte made statements and answered questions.

At 4:31 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:35 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Fred Ghatala, Jasmin Guénette and Virginia Labbie made statements and answered questions.

At 5:30 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Alexie Labelle
Clerk of the Committee