Skip to main content
Start of content

TRAN Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 14
Monday, May 16, 2016, 3:33 p.m. to 5:33 p.m.
Hon. Judy A. Sgro, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Allison Padova, Analyst
Canadian Transportation Agency
• Fred Gaspar, Chief Compliance Officer
• Randall Meades, Chief Strategy Officer
Transportation Safety Board of Canada
• Kathy Fox, Chair
• Jean L. Laporte, Chief Operating Officer
• Kirby Jang, Director, Investigations Rail and Pipeline
Department of Transport
• Laureen Kinney, Assistant Deputy Minister, Safety and Security
• Brigitte Diogo, Director General, Rail Safety
• Benoit Turcotte, Acting Director General
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motions adopted by the Committee on Monday, February 22, 2016, and on Wednesday, March 9, 2016, the Committee resumed its study of rail safety.

Fred Gaspar made a statement and, with Randall Meades, answered questions.

At 4:10 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:11 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Kathy Fox made a statement and, with Jean L. Laporte and Kirby Jang, answered questions.

At 4:53 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:55 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Laureen Kinney, Brigitte Diogo and Benoit Turcotte answered questions.

At 5:33 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Andrew Bartholomew Chaplin
Clerk of the Committee