Skip to main content
Start of content

INAN Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 150
Tuesday, May 14, 2019, 8:37 a.m. to 1:24 p.m.
Hon. MaryAnn Mihychuk, Chair (Liberal)


• John Aldag for William Amos (Liberal)
• Julie Dabrusin for T.J. Harvey (Liberal)
• Colin Fraser for T.J. Harvey (Liberal)
• Hon. Hedy Fry for Don Rusnak (Liberal)
• Ruby Sahota for Yves Robillard (Liberal)
• Sonia Sidhu for Don Rusnak (Liberal)
• Scott Simms for T.J. Harvey (Liberal)
House of Commons
• Paul Cardegna, Procedural Clerk
Library of Parliament
• Olivier Leblanc-Laurendeau, Analyst
• Marlisa Tiedemann, Analyst
Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development
• Daniel Watson, Deputy Minister
• Jean-Pierre Morin, Departmental Historian, Strategic Policy Directorate
Department of Indigenous Services Canada
• Jean-François Tremblay, Deputy Minister
• François Masse, Director General, Strategic Policy, Cabinet and Parliamentary Affairs
Department of Justice
• Suzanne Grondin, Senior Counsel, CIRNAC/ISC Legal Services, Operations and Programs Section
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Thursday, April 11, 2019, the Committee commenced its study of the subject matter of Clauses 336 to 386 (Part 4, Division 25) (An Act respecting the Department of Indigenous Services) of Bill C-97, An Act to implement certain provisions of the budget tabled in Parliament on March 19, 2019 and other measures.

Daniel Watson, Jean-François Tremblay and Suzanne Grondin made statements and, with Jean-Pierre Morin, answered questions.


Cathy McLeod moved, — That the Committee invite the Assembly of First Nations, Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami and Métis National Council to submit briefs regarding the study of the subject matter of Clauses 336 to 386 (Part 4, Division 25) of Bill C-97, An Act to implement certain provisions of the budget tabled in Parliament on March 19, 2019 and other measures.

After debate, the question was put on the motion and the result of the vote was announced: YEAS: 4; NAYS: 4.

Whereupon, the Chair voted in the negative.

Accordingly, the motion was negatived.

At 10:31 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 10:39 a.m., the sitting resumed.

National Association of Friendship Centres
• Jocelyn Formsma, Executive Director
As individuals
• Pamela D. Palmater, Chair in Indigenous Governance, Department of Politics & Public Administration, Ryerson University
• Joshua Ferland
Southern Chiefs' Organization Inc.
• Grand Chief Jerry Daniels
Federation of Sovereign Indigenous Nations
• Morley Watson, First Vice-Chief
Peter Ballantyne Child and Family Services Inc.
• Vera Sayese, Executive Director
Secwépemc Child and Family Services Agency
• Lyle Thomas, Cultural Advisor
• Bernie Charlie, Senior Resource Specialist, Resources and Foster Care
Union of British Columbia Indian Chiefs
• Judy Wilson
Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Friday, May 3, 2019, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-92, An Act respecting First Nations, Inuit and Métis children, youth and families.

Jocelyn Formsma, Pamela D. Palmater and Joshua Ferland made statements and answered questions.

At 11:31 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 11:38 a.m., the sitting resumed.

Jerry Daniels and Morley Watson made statements and, with Vera Sayese, answered questions.

At 12:25 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:31 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Lyle Thomas and Bernie Charlie, by videoconference from Kamloops, British Columbia, and Judy Wilson, by videoconference from Vancouver, British Columbia, made statements and answered questions.

At 1:24 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Leif-Erik Aune
Clerk of the Committee