Skip to main content

INAN Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Notice of meeting

Standing Committee on Indigenous and Northern Affairs (INAN)
42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 149
Thursday, May 9, 2019, 8:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m.

8:30 a.m. to 9:30 a.m.
As individuals
• Jeffry Nilles, Student
First Nations Summit
• Grand Chief Edward John, Political Executive Member
• Cheryl Casimer, Political Executive Member
Nishnawbe Aski Nation
• Bobby Narcisse, Director of Social Services
• Julian Falconer, Legal Advisor

9:30 a.m. to 10:30 a.m.
Manitoba Metis Federation
• David Chartrand, President
Saskatchewan First Nations Family and Community Institute
• Tischa Mason, Executive Director (by videoconference: Saskatoon, Saskatchewan)
Kanaweyimik Child and Family Services
• Marlene Bugler, Executive Director (by videoconference: Saskatoon, Saskatchewan)
As individuals
• Katherine Whitecloud, Grandmother

10:30 a.m. to 11:30 a.m.
Assembly of First Nations
• National Chief Perry Bellegarde
As individuals
• Mary Ellen Turpel-Lafond, Director of Indian Residential School Centre for History and Dialogue, Professor, Allard Law School, University of British Columbia

11:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.
Assembly of Manitoba Chiefs
• Grand Chief Arlen Dumas
• Cora Morgan, First Nations Family Advocate
Ottawa Inuit Children's Centre
• Alyssa Flaherty-Spence, President
• Karen Baker-Anderson, Executive Director
As individuals
• Natasha Reimer, Director for Manitoba, Youth in Care Canada and Foster Up Founder

12:30 p.m. to 1:30 p.m.
Government of Ontario
• Lisa MacLeod, Minister of Children, Community and Social Services and Minister Responsible for Women’s Issues
As individuals
• Katherine Hensel, Principal Lawyer, Hensel Barristers Professional Corporation
Association of Native Child and Family Service Agencies of Ontario
• Theresa Stevens, Executive Director
• Amber Crowe, Board Secretary
Shuswap Nation Tribal Council
• Chief Wayne Christian, Tribal Chief, Secwepemc Nation
Clerk of the Committee
Leif-Erik Aune (613-996-1173)
2019-05-08 2:49 p.m.