Skip to main content

INAN Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 148
Tuesday, May 7, 2019, 8:33 a.m. to 1:32 p.m.
Hon. MaryAnn Mihychuk, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Sara Fryer, Analyst
• Olivier Leblanc-Laurendeau, Analyst
• Marlisa Tiedemann, Analyst
House of Commons
• Thomas Bigelow, Procedural Clerk
As individuals
• André Schutten
• Raven McCallum, Youth Advisor, Minister of Children and Family Development Youth Advisory Council
• Peter W. Hogg
Anishinabek Nation
• Marie Elena Tracey O'Donnell, Legal Counsel
• Adrienne Pelletier, Social Development Director
Saskatchewan Aboriginal Women's Circle Corporation
• Judy Hughes, President
• Brenda Dubois, Kohkum (Grandmother)
Conseil de la nation Atikamekw
• Grand Chief Constant Awashish
• Anne Fournier, Lawyer
Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami
• Natan Obed, President
• Jenny Tierney, Manager, Health and Social Development
Sandy Bay First Nation
• Chief Lance Roulette
• Richard De La Ronde, Executive Director, Child and Family Services
• Tim Catchaway, Representative
Métis National Council
• Clément Chartier, President
Metis Child & Family Services Authority
• Billie Schibler, Chief Executive Officer
Metis Child, Family and Community Services
• Greg Besant, Executive Director
Quebec Native Women Inc.
• Viviane Michel, President
• Miriam Fillion, Communication Officer
Office of the Wet'suwet'en
• Chief Dora Wilson, Hagwilget Village First Nation
• Ronald Mitchell, Hereditary Chief
Saskatoon Tribal Council
• Chief Mark Arcand, Tribal Chief
Nunatsiavut Government
• Michelle Kinney, Deputy Minister, Health and Social Development
Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Friday, May 3, 2019, the Committee commenced consideration of Bill C-92, An Act respecting First Nations, Inuit and Métis children, youth and families.

André Schutten, Marie O'Donnell, Adrienne Pelletier, Judy Hughes and Brenda Dubois made statements and answered questions.

At 9:31 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 9:34 a.m., the sitting resumed.

Constant Awashish, Anne Fournier, Natan Obed, Lance Roulette and Richard De La Ronde made statements and answered questions.

At 10:28 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 10:35 a.m., the sitting resumed.

Clément Chartier made a statement.

At 10:44 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 10:45 a.m., the sitting resumed.

Billie Schibler and Greg Besant, by videoconference from Winnipeg, Manitoba, made statements and, with Clément Chartier, answered questions.

At 11:10 a.m., Cathy McLeod took the Chair.

At 11:21 a.m., MaryAnn Mihychuk took the Chair.

At 11:30 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 11:34 a.m., the sitting resumed.

Raven McCallum, by videoconference from Victoria, British Columbia, and Viviane Michel made statements and, with Miriam Fillion, answered questions.

At 12:20 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:24 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Michelle Kinney, by videoconference from Happy Valley-Goose Bay, Newfoundland and Labrador, Dora Wilson, Ronald Mitchell, Mark Arcand and Peter W. Hogg made statements and answered questions.

At 1:32 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Leif-Erik Aune
Clerk of the Committee