Skip to main content
Start of content

CIIT Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 83
Wednesday, October 25, 2017, 3:30 p.m. to 5:01 p.m.
Hon. Mark Eyking, Chair (Liberal)

House of Commons
• Karine Parenteau, Procedural Clerk
Library of Parliament
• Simon Richards, Analyst
• Pascal Tremblay, Analyst
As an individual
• Michael Geist, Canada Research Chair in Internet and E-commerce Law, Faculty of Law, University of Ottawa
La Maison Simons Inc.
• Peter Simons, Chief Executive Officer
eBay Canada Limited
• Andrea Stairs, Managing Director
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Thursday, May 11, 2017, the Committee resumed its study of progressive Canadian enterprises and SMEs through electronic commerce.

Andrea Stairs, Peter Simons and Michael Geist made statements and answered questions.

At 4:45 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:49 p.m., the sitting resumed in camera.

It was agreed, — That, pursuant to Standing Order 108(2), the Committee undertake a study regarding the potential free trade agreement between Canada and the Pacific Alliance; that this study consist of at least four (4) meetings; that the Minister of International Trade be invited to appear, as well as industry, civil society, Indigenous groups and labour groups; that witnesses appear by videoconference when possible; and that the Committee report its findings to the House.

At 5:01 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Christine Lafrance
Clerk of the Committee