Skip to main content

CIIT Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 82
Monday, October 23, 2017, 3:29 p.m. to 5:07 p.m.
Hon. Mark Eyking, Chair (Liberal)

House of Commons
• Karine Parenteau, Procedural Clerk
Library of Parliament
• Simon Richards, Analyst
• Pascal Tremblay, Analyst
Canadian Union of Public Employees
• Nathalie Blais, Research Representative
• Toby Sanger, Senior Economist
Canadian Freelance Union-Unifor
• Ethan Clarke, Vice-President
Canadian Manufacturers & Exporters
• Michael Holden, Chief Economist
• Mathew Wilson, Senior Vice-President
Startup Canada
• Victoria Lennox, Co-Founder and Chief Executive Officer
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Thursday, May 11, 2017, the Committee commenced its study of progressive Canadian enterprises and SMEs through electronic commerce.

Ethan Clarke, Mathew Wilson, Toby Sanger, Nathalie Blais and Victoria Lennox made statements and, with Michael Holden, answered questions.

At 4:50 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:55 p.m., the sitting resumed in camera.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

It was agreed, — That the Committee hold an official televised meeting on Tuesday, October 31, 2017, in order to hear Ukrainian Prime Minister and that the Chair invite members of the Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs and International Development and members of the Standing Committee on National Defence to attend that meeting.

At 5:07 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Christine Lafrance
Clerk of the Committee