Skip to main content

CIIT Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 74
Monday, August 14, 2017, 10:07 a.m. to 12:00 p.m.
Hon. Mark Eyking, Chair (Liberal)

House of Commons
• Hugues La Rue, Procedural Clerk
Library of Parliament
• Alexandre Gauthier, Analyst
• Hon. Chrystia Freeland, Minister of Foreign Affairs
Department of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development
• Catherine Gosselin, Deputy director, Trade Negotiations - North America (TNP)
• Martin Moen, Director General, North America and Investment
• Tim Sargent, Deputy Minister for International Trade
• Steve Verheul, Acting Assistant Deputy Minister, Trade Policy and Negotiation, and Chief Negotiator for the North American Free Trade Agreement
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Thursday, February 16, 2017, the Committee resumed its study of priorities of Canadian stakeholders having an interest in bilateral and trilateral trade in North America, between Canada, United States and Mexico.

The Minister made a statement and answered questions.

At 11:13 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 11:16 a.m., the sitting resumed.

Steve Verheul, Tim Sargent and Catherine Gosselin answered questions.

At 11:48 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 11:51 a.m., the sitting resumed.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

At 12:00 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Christine Lafrance
Clerk of the Committee