Skip to main content
Start of content

CIIT Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 30
Tuesday, September 20, 2016, 11:01 a.m. to 1:01 p.m.
Hon. Mark Eyking, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Alexandre Gauthier, Analyst
• Simon Richards, Analyst
• Hon. Lawrence MacAulay, Minister of Agriculture and Agri-Food
Department of Finance
• Dean Beyea, Director, International Trade Policy Division, International Trade and Finance Branch
Dairy Farmers of Canada
• Caroline Emond, Executive Director
• Yves Leduc, Director, Policy and Trade
Department of Agriculture and Agri-Food
• Doug Forsyth, Executive Director, Strategic Trade Policy Division
• Fred Gorrell, Assistant Deputy Minister, Market and Industry Services Branch
Department of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development
• Katharine Funtek, Executive Director, Trade Controls Policy
Canadian Poultry and Egg Processors Council
• Robin Horel, President and Chief Executive Officer
Canada Border Services Agency
• Alexander Lawton, Director, Trade Compliance
• Brad Loynachan, Director, Trade Policy
Chicken Farmers of Canada
• Yves Ruel, Manager of Trade and Policy
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Wednesday, August 3, 2016, the Committee resumed its study of Canada Border Services Agency’s Duties Deferral Program as well as other issues such as diafiltered milk and spent fowl.

The Hon. Lawrence MacAulay made a statement and, with Fred Gorrell and Alexander Lawton, answered questions.

At 12:00 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:07 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Robin Horel, Yves Ruel and Caroline Emond made statements and answered questions.

At 12:42 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:45 p.m., the sitting resumed.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

At 1:01 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Rémi Bourgault
Clerk of the Committee