Skip to main content
Start of content

CIIT Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 139
Tuesday, February 26, 2019, 3:30 p.m. to 4:56 p.m.
Hon. Mark Eyking, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Bashar Abu Taleb, Analyst
Manna International Inc.
• Gerald Fowler, President and Owner
Chambre de commerce de l'Est de Montréal
• Christine Fréchette, President and Chief Executive Officer
• Raphaëlle Mandelbaum, Director, Export Assistance
Iafrate Machine Works Ltd.
• Gary Stepien, Finance Manager
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Tuesday, October 30, 2018, the Committee resumed its study of the Government of Canada's support for the international trade of small and medium-sized businesses.

Gary Stepien, Gerald Fowler and Christine Fréchette, by videoconference from Montréal, Quebec, made statements and, with Raphaëlle Mandelbaum, by videoconference from Montréal, Quebec, answered questions.

At 4:51 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:53 p.m., the sitting resumed in camera.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

It was agreed, — That the Committee invite representatives of the Department of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development to present its analysis of the impact of Brexit on the Canadian economy and its commercial relationship, and the plans elaborated by Canada if Great Britain leaves the European Union with or without an agreement.

At 4:56 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Marie-Hélène Sauvé
Committee Clerk