Skip to main content

AGRI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 22
Wednesday, April 2, 2014

The Standing Committee on Agriculture and Agri-Food met at 3:30 p.m. this day, in Room 268, La Promenade Building, the Chair, Bev Shipley, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Ruth Ellen Brosseau, Earl Dreeshen, Hon. Mark Eyking, Randall Garrison, Pierre Lemieux, LaVar Payne, Bev Shipley and Bob Zimmer.


Acting Members present: Malcolm Allen for Francine Raynault and Jeff Watson for Randy Hoback.


Associate Members present: Larry Maguire.


Other Members present: Hon. Wayne Easter and Hon. Ralph Goodale.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Frédéric Forge, Analyst; Khamla Heminthavong, Analyst. House of Commons: Philippe Grenier-Michaud, Procedural Clerk.


Witnesses: Canada Grains Council: Richard Phillips, President. Canadian Federation of Agriculture: Humphrey Banack, Vice-President; Garnet Etsell, Executive, British Columbia Agricultural Council. As an individual: Richard Gray, Professor, Bioresource Policy, Business and Economics, University of Saskatchewan. Alberta Wheat Commission: Kevin Bender, Director. Inland Terminal Association of Canada: Kevin Hursh, Executive Director.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Friday, March 28, 2014, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-30, An Act to amend the Canada Grain Act and the Canada Transportation Act and to provide for other measures.

Humphrey Banack and Garnet Etsell made statements.


At 3:43 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 5:11 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Richard Gray and Kevin Hursh, by videoconference from Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Kevin Bender, by videoconference from Calgary, Alberta, and Richard Phillips made statements and answered questions.


At 6:28 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Jean Michel Roy
Clerk of the Committee

2014/09/16 1:45 p.m.