Skip to main content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 45
Thursday, March 1, 2012

The Standing Committee on Finance met at 3:32 p.m. this day, in Room 8-53, 131 Queen Street, the Chair, James Rajotte, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Hon. Scott Brison, Robert Chisholm, Alain Giguère, Shelly Glover, Randy Hoback, Brian Jean, Hoang Mai, Cathy McLeod, James Rajotte and Dave Van Kesteren.


Acting Members present: Brad Butt for Mark Adler and Wayne Marston for Peter Julian.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Mark Mahabir, Analyst; Brett Stuckey, Analyst.


Witnesses: As an individual: Jean-Pierre Laporte, Pension Lawyer. Canadian Labour Congress: Chris Roberts, Senior Researcher, Social and Economic Policy Department. Canadian Life and Health Insurance Association Inc.: Leslie Byrnes, Vice-President, Distribution and Pensions. Canadian Union of Public Employees: Kevin Skerrett, Senior Research Officer. Quebec Employers' Council: Yves-Thomas Dorval, President. Teamsters Canada: Phil Benson, Lobbyist. As an individual: Michel Lizée, Economist and Coordinator, Community Services, University of Québec at Montreal.

Pursuant to the Order of Reference of Wednesday, February 1, 2012, the Committee resumed consideration of Bill C-25, An Act relating to pooled registered pension plans and making related amendments to other Acts.

Jean-Pierre Laporte, Chris Roberts, Leslie Byrnes, Kevin Skerrett, Yves-Thomas Dorval, Phil Benson and Michel Lizée, by videoconference from Montréal, Québec, made statements and answered questions.


At 5:26 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Guyanne L. Desforges
Clerk of the Committee

2012/03/05 2:50 p.m.