Skip to main content

FAAE Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 49
Thursday, October 18, 2012

The Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs and International Development met at 8:55 a.m. this day, in Room 306, La Promenade Building, the Chair, Dean Allison, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Dean Allison, Lois Brown, Bob Dechert, Paul Dewar, Nina Grewal, Hélène Laverdière, Ève Péclet, Gary Ralph Schellenberger, Dave Van Kesteren and John Williamson.


Acting Members present: Hon. Mark Eyking for Hon. Dominic LeBlanc and Philip Toone for Romeo Saganash.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Allison Goody, Analyst; James Lee, Analyst.


Witnesses: Embassy of the Republic of Turkey: Gulcan Akoguz, Chargé d'affaires ad interim. Syrian Canadian Council: Faisal Alazem, Spokesperson. As an individual: Mariam Hamou.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2), the Committee proceeded to a briefing on the Situation in Syria.

Gulcan Akoguz made a statement and answered questions.


At 9:43 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 9:48 a.m., the sitting resumed.


Mariam Hamou and Faisal Alazem each made statements and answered questions.


At 10:40 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 10:42 a.m., the sitting resumed in camera.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

It was agreed, — That the Committee invite additional witnesses to appear to discuss the situation in Syria on Thursday, November 1, 2012.


At 10:48 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Miriam Burke
Clerk of the Committee

2012/10/19 10:26 a.m.