Skip to main content

HUMA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 5
Tuesday, March 30, 2004

The Standing Committee on Human Resources, Skills Development, Social Development and the Status of Persons with Disabilities met in camera at 9:10 a.m. this day, in Room 209 West Block, the Chair, Judi Longfield, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Eleni Bakopanos, Paul Bonwick, Jeannot Castonguay, Libby Davies, Judi Longfield, Gary Lunn, Larry McCormick, Brian Pallister, Carol Skelton and Suzanne Tremblay.


Acting Members present: Ovid Jackson for John Finlay.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Chantal Collin, Analyst; Kevin Kerr, Analyst.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

It was agreed, — That a press release for the 2004 Centennial Flame Research Award be published.


It was agreed, — That the Committee re-schedule the meeting with HRSD officials regarding the Auditor General's report Chapter 7 & 10; invite Privy Council officials to brief the Committee regarding the Order in Council appointments process and invite HRSD and Finance officials regarding progress made on the E.I. premium rate setting.


It was agreed, — That the Committee study access to post-secondary education including but not limited to student loans and re-visit the unanimous report of the Committee on Employment Insurance entitled Beyond C-2.


At 10:15 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Danielle Bélisle
Clerk of the Committee

2004/03/31 2:57 p.m.