Skip to main content

AGRI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 86

Thursday, May 27, 1999

The Standing Committee on Agriculture and Agri-Food met at 9:06 a.m., this day, in Room 269, West Block, the Chair, John Harvard, presiding.

Members of the Committee present: Hélène Alarie, Rick Borotsik, Murray Calder, Denis Coderre, John Harvard, Howard Hilstrom, Jake Hoeppner, Larry McCormick, Joe McGuire, Ian Murray, Dick Proctor, Paul Steckle and Rose-Marie Ur.

Acting Member present: Rick Limoges for Murray Calder; Rick Limoges for Paul Bonwick.

In attendance: From the Library of Parliament: Frédéric Forge, Researcher and Jean-Denis Fréchette, Economist.

Witnesses: From the Canadian Food Inspection Agency: Dr. André Gravel, Vice-President, Programs; Larry Hillier, Vice-President, Operations; John Jones, Comptroller; Shirley Siegel, Vice-President, Human Resources; Dr. Brian Evans, Director, Animal Health; Margaret Kenny, Associate Director, Biotechnology Strategies and Coordination Office.

The Committee resumed consideration of its Order of Reference from the House dated March 1, 1999, relating to the Main Estimates for the fiscal year ending March 31, 2000 (See Minutes of Proceedings, of Thursday, May 6, 1999, Meeting No. 82).

André Gravel, made an opening statement and with other witnesses, answered questions.

Larry McCormick moved, -- That, the Chair be authorized to request funding from the Liaison Committee for a proposed trip to Paris, Brussels and Strasbourg of about $109,300.00 and that he also seeks the House's authorization for the said trip, on the upcoming WTO Negotiations on Agriculture with our European Counterparts.

After debate, the motion was agreed to, on the following division: Yeas: (9): Hélène Alarie, Rick Borotsik, Murray Calder, Jake Hoeppner, Larry McCormick, Joe McGuire, Ian Murray, Paul Steckle, Rose-Marie Ur.

Nays (1): Howard Hilstrom.

At 10:57 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Georges Etoka

Clerk of the Committee