Skip to main content

AGRI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 35




The Standing Committee of Agriculture and Agri-Food met jointly with the The Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs and International Trade at 9:03 a.m., this day, in Room 209 of the West Block, the Chairs, Joe McGuire and Bill Graham, presiding.

Members of the Committee present: Hélène Alarie, Paul Bonwick, Rick Borotsik, Murray Calder, John Harvard, Jake E. Hoeppner, Larry McCormick, Joe McGuire, Dick Proctor, Paul Steckle and Rose-Marie Ur.

Members of the Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs and International Trade present: Sarkis Assadourian, Jean Augustine, Colleen Beaumier, Raymonde Folco, Bill Graham, Gurmant Grewal, Ted McWhinney, Bob Mills, Julian Reed, Benoît Sauvageau and Daniel Turp.

In attendance: From Committees and Legislative Services: Janice Hilchie, Committee Clerk. From the Parliamentary Research Branch: Sonya Dakers, Research Coordinator and

Jean-Denis Frechette, Research Officer.

Witnesses: From the World Bank : Ismail Serageldin, Vice-President for Special Programs; Alex F. McCalla, Director, Rural Development.

In accordance with its mandate under Standing Order 108(2), the Committee proceeded to examine issues of food security.

Ismail Serageldin and Alex F. McCalla each made an opening statement and answered questions.

At 9:57 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.





Georges Etoka

Clerk of the Committee