Skip to main content

AGRI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


(Meeting No. 31)



The Standing Committee on Agriculture and Agri-food met at 9:09 a.m., this day, in Room 269, West Block, Joe McGuire, presiding.

Members of the Committee present: Hélène Alarie, Paul Bonwick, Murray Calder, John Harvard, Jay Hill, Larry McCormick, Joe McGuire, Dick Roctor, Paul Steckle and Rose-Marie Ur.

In attendance: From the Parliamentary Research Branch: Daniel Shaw and Sonya Dakers, Research Coordinator.

Appearing: John Harvard, Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of Agriculture and Agri-Food.

Witnesses: From the Canadian Grain Commission: Barry Senft, Chief Commissioner; Marilyn Kapitany, Director, Corporate Services; Valerie Gilroy, Barrister & Solicitor; Regis Gosselin, Acting Manager, Corporate Information Services. From the Canadian Food Inspection Agency: Reg Gatenby, Legislative and Regulatory Affairs.

The Order of Reference dated March 27, 1998, being read as follows:

Ordered: That Bill C-26, An act to Amend the Canada Grain Act and the Agriculture and Agri-Food Administration Monetary Penalties Act and to Repeal the Grain Futures Act be now read a second time and referred to the Standing Committee on Agriculture and Agri-Food.

The Committee proceeded with the Study of Bill C-26.

John Harvard, Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of Agriculture and Agri-Food and Barry Senft, made opening statements, and with other witnesses, answered questions.

At 10:35 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.






Clerk of the Committee