Skip to main content
Start of content

SECU Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

44th Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 38
Tuesday, October 18, 2022, 3:48 p.m. to 6:14 p.m.
Ron McKinnon, Chair (Liberal)

• Damien C. Kurek for Raquel Dancho (Conservative)
• Greg McLean for Dane Lloyd (Conservative)
Library of Parliament
• Lyne Casavant, Analyst
Airsoft in Canada
• Brian A. McIlmoyle, Director
• Nicholas James Martin, Member
• Ziming Wan, Member
Canadian Doctors for Protection from Guns
• Dr. Najma Ahmed, Doctor
• Dr. Philip Berger, Doctor
• Dr. Julie Maggi, Doctor
Canadian Sporting Arms and Ammunition Association
• Wesley Allan Winkel, President
Canadian Shooting Sports Association
• Tony Bernado, Executive Director
Fédération sportive d’airsoft du Québec
• Yannick Guénette, First Vice-President
• François Gauthier, Second Vice-President
Pursuant to the order of reference of Thursday, June 23, 2022, the committee resumed consideration of Bill C-21, An Act to amend certain Acts and to make certain consequential amendments (firearms).

Brian A. McIlmoyle, Nicholas James Martin, Dr. Najma Ahmed and Wesley Allan Winkel made statements and, with Ziming Wan and Dr. Julie Maggi, answered questions.

At 4:29 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 5:04 p.m., the sitting resumed in public.

Questioning of the witnesses resumed.

At 5:34 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 5:37 p.m., the sitting resumed in public.

Tony Bernado and Yannick Guénette made statements and, with François Gauthier, answered questions.

At 6:14 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Simon Larouche
Clerk of the committee