Skip to main content
Start of content

SECU Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

44th Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 20
Thursday, April 28, 2022, 11:47 a.m. to 1:27 p.m.
Hon. Jim Carr, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Lyne Casavant, Analyst
• Chloé Forget, Analyst
• Holly Porteous, Analyst
As an individual
• Brandon Rigato, Lead Research Assistant on Hate and Extremism in Canada, Carleton University
• Dr. Stephanie Carvin, Associate Professor, Norman Paterson School of International Affairs, Carleton University
• Dr. Carmen Celestini, Post Doctoral Fellow, The Disinformation Project, School of Communication, Simon Fraser University
• Dr. Diana Inkpen, Professor, School of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, University of Ottawa
• Dr. Christian Leuprecht, Professor, Royal Military College of Canada, Queen’s University
UNESCO Chair in Prevention of Radicalisation and Violent Extremism
• Dr. David Morin, Co-Chair, Université de Sherbrooke
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the committee on Thursday, February 10, 2022, the committee resumed its study of the rise of ideologically motivated violent extremism in Canada.

Brandon Rigato and David Morin made statements and answered questions.

At 12:41 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:44 p.m., the sitting resumed in public.

Carmen Celestini, Diana Inkpen and Christian Leuprecht made statements and answered questions.

At 1:27 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Wassim Bouanani
Clerk of the committee