Skip to main content
Start of content

RNNR Committee News Release

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Standing Committee on Natural Resources
House of Commons / Chambre des communes
Comité permanent des ressources naturelles

For immediate release


The Standing Committee on Natural Resources Invites Submissions for its Study of a Greenhouse Gas Emissions Cap for the Oil and Gas Sector

Ottawa, February 22, 2022 -

On February 7, 2022, the Standing Committee on Natural Resources launched a study on the Government of Canada’s proposal to cap greenhouse gas emissions from the oil and gas sector.

The committee is examining how an emissions cap could be designed and implemented, as well as various related issues. These issues include Canada’s ability to meet its climate commitments, the role of carbon capture, utilization and sequestration, and the potential effects of an emissions cap. The committee will report its conclusions to the House of Commons.

The committee invites individuals and organizations to submit written briefs related to this study. Briefs should be no more than 10 pages long. Individuals and organizations that wish to testify as witnesses may also express their interest in doing so.

Written briefs, expressions of interest and any questions about the study should be directed to the committee clerk by email, at

The House of Commons Standing Committee on Natural Resources has 12 members. It is chaired by John Aldag (Cloverdale—Langley City). The Vice-Chairs are the Hon. Michelle Rempel Garner (Calgary Nose Hill) and Mario Simard (Jonquière). The other members are Charlie Angus (Timmins—James Bay), George Chahal (Calgary Skyview), Julie Dabrusin (Toronto—Danforth), Yvonne Jones (Labrador), Viviane Lapointe (Sudbury), Larry Maguire (Brandon—Souris), James Maloney (Etobicoke—Lakeshore), Eric Melillo (Kenora) and Chris Warkentin (Grande Prairie—Mackenzie).

For more information, please contact:
Hilary Jane Powell, Clerk of the Standing Committee on Natural Resources
Tel: 613-995-0047