Skip to main content
Start of content

JUST Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

44th Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 61
Wednesday, April 26, 2023, 4:41 p.m. to 4:46 p.m.
Randeep Sarai, Chair (Liberal)

House of Commons
• Jean-François Pagé, Legislative Clerk
• Marie-Hélène Sauvé, Legislative Clerk
Library of Parliament
• Dana Phillips, Analyst
• Iryna Zazulya, Analyst
Department of Citizenship and Immigration
• Selena Beattie, Director General, Policy and Outreach Branch, Afghanistan Sector
Department of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development
• Jennifer Loten, Director General, Bureau for International Crime and Terrorism
Department of Justice
• Robert Brookfield, Director General and Senior General Counsel, Criminal Law Policy Section
• Glenn Gilmour, Counsel, Criminal Law Policy Section
Department of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness
• Richard Bilodeau, Director General
Pursuant to the order of reference of Monday, March 27, 2023, the committee resumed consideration of Bill C-41, An Act to amend the Criminal Code and to make consequential amendments to other Acts.


Garnett Genuis moved, — That, the committee report the following to the House:

That the committee recommends to the House that it be granted the power during its consideration of Bill C-41 to expand the scope of the Bill in order to respond to recommendations from international development organizations.


Randall Garrison moved, — That the debate be now adjourned.

The question was put on the motion and it was agreed to on the following recorded division:

YEAS: Pam Damoff, Anju Dhillon, Lena Metlege Diab, Darren Fisher, Randall Garrison, Yasir Naqvi — 6;

NAYS: Larry Brock, Alexis Brunelle-Duceppe, Garnett Genuis, Rob Moore, Tako Van Popta — 5.

At 4:46 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Jean-François Lafleur
Clerk of the committee