Skip to main content

HESA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

44th Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 117
Friday, May 24, 2024, 12:08 p.m. to 4:59 p.m.
Sean Casey, Chair (Liberal)

• Maxime Blanchette-Joncas for Luc Thériault (Bloc Québécois)
• Wilson Miao for Brendan Hanley (Liberal)
• Anna Roberts for Todd Doherty (Conservative)
• Kyle Seeback for Laila Goodridge (Conservative)
House of Commons
• Sophia Nickel, Procedural Clerk
Library of Parliament
• Eleni Kachulis, Analyst
• Jean-Rodrigue Paré, Analyst
As an individual
• Marc-André Gagnon, Associate Professor, School of Public Policy and Administration, Carleton University
• Steven Morgan, Professor, University of British Columbia
Action Canada for Sexual Health and Rights
• Wendy V. Norman, Public Health Agency of Canada Chair, Family Planning Research
Association québécoise des pharmaciens propriétaires
• Benoit Morin, President
• Geneviève Pelletier, Senior Director, External and Pharmaceutical Affairs
Best Medicines Coalition
• John Adams, Board Chair
Canadian Association for Pharmacy Distribution Management
• Angelique Berg, President and Chief Executive Officer
Canadian Association of Retired Persons
• Bill VanGorder, Chief Policy Officer
Canadian Federation of Nurses Unions
• Linda Silas, President
Canadian Organization for Rare Disorders
• Durhane Wong-Rieger, President and Chief Executive Officer
Diabetes Canada
• Russell Williams, Senior Vice-President, Mission
• Glenn Thibeault, Executive Director, Government Affairs, Advocacy and Policy
JDRF Canada
• Jessica Diniz, President and Chief Executive Officer
Smart Health Benefits Coalition
• Carolyne Eagan, Principal Representative
Pursuant to the order of reference of Tuesday, May 7, 2024, the committee resumed consideration of Bill C-64, An Act respecting pharmacare.

Angelique Berg, Linda Silas and Durhane Wong-Rieger made statements and answered questions.

At 1:33 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 1:47 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Jessica Diniz, Benoit Morin, Bill VanGorder, and Russell Williams made statements and, with Glenn Thibeault, answered questions.

At 3:21 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 3:34 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Marc-André Gagnon, Steven Morgan, Wendy Norman and John Adams made statements and answered questions.

At 4:59 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Aimée Belmore
Clerk of the committee