Skip to main content

HESA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

44th Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 116
Thursday, May 23, 2024, 3:32 p.m. to 8:29 p.m.
Sean Casey, Chair (Liberal)

House of Commons
• Jean-François Lafleur, Procedural Clerk
Library of Parliament
• Laura Blackmore, Analyst
• Kelly Farrah, Analyst
• Hon. Mark Holland, Minister of Health
Canadian Generic Pharmaceutical Association
• Jim Keon, President
• Jody Cox, Vice-President, Federal and International Affairs
Canadian Health Coalition
• Steven Staples, National Director, Policy and Advocacy
• Mike Bleskie, Advocate, Type 1 Diabetes
Canadian Life and Health Insurance Association
• Stephen Frank, President and Chief Executive Officer
Canadian Pharmacists Association
• Joelle Walker, Vice-President, Public and Professional Affairs
Department of Health
• Michelle Boudreau, Associate Assistant Deputy Minister, Strategic Policy Branch
• Daniel MacDonald, Director General, Office of Pharmaceuticals Management Strategies, Strategic Policy Branch
Heart and Stroke Foundation of Canada
• Manuel Arango, Vice-President, Policy and Advocacy
Office of the Parliamentary Budget Officer
• Yves Giroux, Parliamentary Budget Officer
• Lisa Barkova, Analyst
National Indigenous Diabetes Association Inc.
• Celeste Theriault, Executive Director
Society of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists of Canada
• Dr. Diane Francoeur, Chief Executive Officer
Pursuant to the order of reference of Tuesday, May 7, 2024, the committee commenced consideration of Bill C-64, An Act respecting pharmacare.

The Minister made a statement and, with Daniel MacDonald and Michelle Boudreau, answered questions.

At 5:08 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 5:19 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Jim Keon, Stephen Frank, Steven Staples, Mike Bleskie and Yves Giroux made statements and, with Lisa Barkova, answered questions.

At 6:50 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 7:04 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Joelle Walker, Manuel Arango, Celeste Theriault and Dr. Diane Francoeur made statements and answered questions.

The committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to committee business.

That the proposed budget in the amount of $37,000, for the study of Bill C-64, be adopted

At 8:29 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Carine Grand-Jean
Clerk of the committee