Skip to main content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

44th Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 145
Friday, May 31, 2024, 10:02 a.m. to 2:06 p.m.
Peter Fonseca, Chair (Liberal)

• Chris Bittle for Julie Dzerowicz (Liberal)
• Blaine Calkins for Jasraj Singh Hallan (Conservative)
• Kelly McCauley for Philip Lawrence (Conservative)
• Sonia Sidhu for Francesco Sorbara (Liberal)
• Ryan Williams for Jasraj Singh Hallan (Conservative)
Library of Parliament
• Joëlle Malo, Analyst
House of Commons
• Ariane Calvert, Procedural Clerk
BGC East Scarborough
• Utcha Sawyers, Chief Executive Officer
Canadian Council for Refugees
• Jenny Jeanes, Vice-President
• Gauri Sreenivasan, Co-Executive Director
Canadian Health Food Association
• Laura Gomez, Lawyer and Legal Counsel
• Aaron Skelton, President and Chief Executive Officer
Canadian Physiotherapy Association
• Kayla Scott, Senior Director, Advocacy
Canadian Teachers' Federation
• Heidi Yetman, President
Customs and Immigration Union
• Mark Weber, National President
Desjardins Group
• Bernard Brun, Vice-President, Government Relations
Financial Consumer Agency of Canada
• Werner Liedtke, Interim Commissioner, Corporate Services
• Frank Lofranco, Deputy Commissioner, Supervision and Enforcement
• Supriya Syal, Deputy Commisioner, Research, Policy and Education
Financial Data and Technology Association of North America
• Steven Boms, Executive Director
Fintechs Canada
• Alexander Vronces, Executive Director
Mining Association of Canada
• Pierre Gratton, President and Chief Executive Officer
Public Service Alliance of Canada
• Michele Girash, National Political Action Officer
• David-Alexandre Leblanc, Assistant Director, Negotiations Section
• Liam McCarthy, Director, Negotiations and Programs Branch
University of Ottawa
• Stewart Elgie, Professor, Faculty of Law
Pursuant to the order of reference of Wednesday, May 22, 2024, the committee resumed consideration of Bill C-69, An Act to implement certain provisions of the budget tabled in Parliament on April 16, 2024.

Bernard Brun, Aaron Skelton and Pierre Gratton made statements and answered questions.

At 10:16 a.m., the meeting was suspended.

At 10:17 a.m., the meeting resumed.

Pierre Gratton resumed his statement.

Bernard Brun, Aaron Skelton, Pierre Gratton and Laura Gomez answered questions.

At 11:07 a.m., the meeting was suspended.

At 11:13 a.m., the meeting resumed.

Heidi Yetman, Werner Liedtke and Stewart Elgie made statements and answered questions.

At 12:06 p.m., the meeting was suspended.

At 12:13 p.m., the meeting resumed.

Gauri Sreenivasan, Jenny Jeanes, Kayla Scott and Alexander Vronces made statements and answered questions.

At 1:08 p.m., the meeting was suspended.

At 1:13 p.m., the meeting resumed.

Utcha Sawyers and Mark Weber made statements and, with Steven Boms and Liam McCarthy, answered questions.

At 2:06 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Alexandre Roger
Clerk of the committee