Skip to main content

CIIT Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

44th Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 106
Tuesday, May 21, 2024, 3:31 p.m. to 5:30 p.m.
Hon. Judy A. Sgro, Chair (Liberal)

• Hon. Ed Fast for Matt Jeneroux (Conservative)
Library of Parliament
• Bashar Abu Taleb, Analyst
• Offah Obale, Analyst
Canadian Whale Institute
• Moira Brown, Senior Scientist
Department of Agriculture and Agri-Food
• Michelle Cooper, Director General, Market Access Secretariat
Bay of Fundy Inshore Fishermen's Association
• Colin Sproul, President
Department of Fisheries and Oceans
• Adwaite Tiwary, Director, Trade and Market Policy
• Sylvain Vézina, Regional Director General, Quebec Region
• Todd Williams, Acting Director General, Fisheries Resource Management
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the committee on Tuesday, October 17, 2024, the committee commenced its study of effects of American and European seafood import policies on the fishing industry in Canada.

It was agreed, — That the proposed budget in the amount of $20,000, for the study of effects of American and European seafood import policies on the fishing industry in Canada, be adopted.

Adwaite Tiwary made a statement and, with Todd Williams and Sylvain Vézina, answered questions.

At 3:46 p.m, pursuant to Standing Order 115(5), it was agreed that the committee continue to sit.

At 4:01 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:40 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Colin Sproul and Moira Brown made statements and answered questions.

At 5:30 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Sophia Nickel
Clerk of the committee