Skip to main content
Start of content

AGRI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

44th Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 34
Wednesday, October 26, 2022, 4:36 p.m. to 6:47 p.m.
John Barlow, Vice-Chair (Conservative)

• Andréanne Larouche for Yves Perron (Bloc Québécois)
• Lloyd Longfield for Francis Drouin (Liberal)
• Martin Shields for Lianne Rood (Conservative)
House of Commons
• Stéphanie De Rome, Procedural Clerk
Library of Parliament
• Corentin Bialais, Analyst
• Daniel Farrelly, Analyst
As an individual
• Dr. Sylvain Charlebois, Professor and Director, Agri-Food Analytics Lab, Dalhousie University
Canadian Agri-Food Trade Alliance
• Claire Citeau, Executive Director
Canadian Cattle Association
• Ryder Lee, General Manager
• Bob Lowe, Past President
Canadian Pacific Railway
• Elizabeth Hucker, Assistant Vice-President, Sales and Marketing, Canadian Grain
Saskatchewan Wheat Development Commission
• Brett Halstead, Board Chair
Second Harvest
• Lori Nikkel, Chief Executive Officer
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the committee on Monday, May 30, 2022, the committee resumed its study of global food insecurity.

Sylvain Charlebois, Ryder Lee, Bob Lowe and Elizabeth Hucker made statements and answered questions.

At 5:22 p.m., pursuant to Standing Order 115(5), it was agreed that the committee continue to sit.

At 5:33 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 5:40 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Claire Citeau, Brett Halstead and Lori Nikkel made statements and answered questions.

At 5:58 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 6:07 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Questioning of the witnesses resumed.

At 6:47 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Josée Harrison
Clerk of the committee