Skip to main content
Start of content

AFGH Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

44th Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting 12
Monday, May 9, 2022, 6:29 p.m. to 8:40 p.m.
Sukh Dhaliwal, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Allison Goody, Analyst
• Julie Béchard, Analyst
• Hon. Anita Anand, P.C., M.P., Minister of National Defence
Department of National Defence
• Mr. Bill Matthews, Deputy Minister of National Defence
• VAdm J.R. Auchterlonie, Commander of the Canadian Joint Operations Command
• Gen Wayne D. Eyre, Chief of the Defence Staff, Canadian Armed Forces
• LGen A. D. Meinzinger, Commander, Royal Canadian Air Force
• MGen Steve Boivin, Commander, Canadian Special Operations Forces Command
Pursuant to the order of reference of Wednesday, December 8, 2021, the committee resumed its study of the situation in Afghanistan.

The Minister made a statement and, with Bill Matthews, Wayne D. Eyre, J.R Auchterlonie and Steve Boivin, answered questions.

At 7:33 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 7:35 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Bill Matthews, Wayne D. Eyre, J.R. Auchterlonie, Steve Boivin, and A. D. Meinzinger answered questions.


Jenny Kwan moved, — That the committee ask IRCC to confirm that they have received the 3,800 applications referred by the Department of National Defence; and, that IRCC advise the Committee: how many have been processed with an invitation and assigned a G-number, how many have arrived in Canada, and when could the rest of the 2,900 applications be expect to be processed.

After debate, the question was put on the motion and it was agreed to on the following recorded division:

YEAS: Alexis Brunelle-Duceppe, Michael D. Chong, Kerry-Lynne D. Findlay, Jasraj Singh Hallan, Jenny Kwan, Alex Ruff — 6;

NAYS: Yvan Baker, Fayçal El-Khoury, Marc G. Serré, Maninder Sidhu, Salma Zahid — 5.

At 8:40 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Miriam Burke
Clerk of the committee