Skip to main content
Start of content

INAN Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

43rd Parliament, 2nd Session
Meeting 34
Thursday, May 13, 2021, 11:07 a.m. to 1:21 p.m.
Bob Bratina, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Sara Fryer, Analyst
• Marlisa Tiedemann, Analyst
Indigenous Bar Association in Canada
• Brooks Arcand-Paul, Lawyer
Mohawk Council of Akwesasne
• Chief Connie Lazore
Stl'atl'imx Tribal Police Service
• Deborah Doss-Cody, Chief Officer
Tla'amin Nation
• Derek Yang, Director, Community Services
• Murray Browne, Lawyer
Touchwood Agency Tribal Council
• Chief Reginald Bellerose, Muskowekwan First Nation
• Leon McNab, Justice Co-ordinator
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the committee on Thursday, April 29, 2021, the committee resumed its study of enforcement on First Nations reserves.

Connie Lazore, Derek Yang, Murray Browne, Reginald Bellerose, Leon McNab and Brooks Arcand-Paul made statements and answered questions.

At 11:46 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 11:46 a.m., the sitting resumed.

Deborah Doss-Cody made a statement and, with the other witnesses, answered questions.

At 12:15 p.m., Jamie Schmale took the Chair.

Questioning of the witnesses resumed.

At 12:16 p.m., Bob Bratina took the Chair.

Questioning of the witnesses resumed.

At 12:44 p.m., pursuant to Standing Order 115(5), it was agreed that the committee continue to sit until 1:30 p.m. at the latest.

At 1:21 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Naaman Sugrue
Clerk of the Committee