Skip to main content

INAN Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

43rd Parliament, 2nd Session
Meeting 31
Tuesday, May 4, 2021, 11:06 a.m. to 1:16 p.m.
Bob Bratina, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Sara Fryer, Analyst
• Olivier Leblanc-Laurendeau, Analyst
Arctic Co-operatives Limited
• Duane Wilson, Vice-President, Stakeholder Relations
Fédération des coopératives du Nouveau-Québec
• Daniel Lelievre, Manager, Store Services
North West Company
• Alex Yeo, President, Canadian Retail
• Michael Beaulieu, Vice-President, Canadian Sales and Operations
Qajuqturvik Community Food Centre
• Wade Thorhaug, Executive Director
Arctic Fresh Inc.
• Silvano Cendou, Vice-President, Operations
• Merlyn Recinos, Vice-President, Business Development
Tr'ondëk Hwëch'in First Nation
• Chief Roberta Joseph
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the committee on Thursday, November 26, 2020, the committee resumed its study of food security in northern communities.

Duane Wilson, Daniel Lelievre, Alex Yeo and Wade Thorhaug made statements and, with Michael Beaulieu, answered questions.

At 12:09 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:14 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Silvano Cendou, Merlyn Recinos and Roberta Joseph made statements and answered questions.

The committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to committee business.

It was agreed, — That, the Tsawwassen First Nation Peace Officer program be replaced with Andrew Beynon, Director of Land Code Governance, First Nations Land Management Resource Centre, in the work plan for the study of enforcement on First Nations reserves.

At 1:16 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Naaman Sugrue
Clerk of the Committee