Skip to main content
Start of content

INAN Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

43rd Parliament, 2nd Session
Meeting 27
Thursday, April 15, 2021, 11:49 a.m. to 2:00 p.m.
Bob Bratina, Chair (Liberal)

• Claude DeBellefeuille for Sylvie Bérubé (Bloc Québécois)
• Leah Gazan for Rachel Blaney (NDP)
• Marilène Gill for Sylvie Bérubé (Bloc Québécois)
Library of Parliament
• Sara Fryer, Analyst
• Olivier Leblanc-Laurendeau, Analyst
Métis National Council
• David Chartrand, Vice-President and National Spokesperson
• Al Benoit, Chief of Staff, Manitoba Metis Federation
• Celeste McKay, Consultant
Native Women's Association of Canada
• Lorraine Whitman, President
• Adam Bond, Legal Counsel
Pauktuutit Inuit Women of Canada
• Gerri Sharpe, Vice-President
• Beth Symes, Legal Counsel
Women of the Métis Nation - Les Femmes Michif Otipemisiwak
• Melanie Omeniho, President
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2), the committee resumed consideration of the subject matter of Bill C-15, An Act respecting the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples.

David Chartrand made a statement and answered questions.

At 12:58 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 1:07 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Lorraine Whitman, Adam Bond, Melanie Omeniho and Gerri Sharpe made statements and, with Beth Symes, answered questions.

At 2:00 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Naaman Sugrue
Clerk of the Committee