Skip to main content

INAN Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

43rd Parliament, 2nd Session
Meeting 24
Tuesday, March 23, 2021, 11:09 a.m. to 1:15 p.m.
Bob Bratina, Chair (Liberal)

• Sean Casey for Jaime Battiste (Liberal)
• Scot Davidson for Gary Vidal (Conservative)
• Leah Gazan for Rachel Blaney (NDP)
• Marilène Gill for Sylvie Bérubé (Bloc Québécois)
Library of Parliament
• Sara Fryer, Analyst
• Olivier Leblanc-Laurendeau, Analyst
Assembly of First Nations Quebec-Labrador
• Chief Ross Montour
• Chief Ghislain Picard
BC First Nations Leadership Council
• Merle C. Alexander, General Counsel to BC Assembly of First Nations
• Terry Teegee, Regional Chief of Assembly of First Nations (British Columbia)
First Nations Financial Management Board
• Harold Calla, Executive Chair
• Geordie Hungerford, Chief Executive Officer
Grand Council of the Crees (Eeyou Istchee)
• Grand Chief Abel Bosum
• Tina Petawabano, Director of Federal and Indigenous Relations
Land Claims Agreements Coalition
• Kunuk Inutiq, Director of Self-Government, Nunavut Tunngavik Inc.
• Dillon Johnson, Member of Executive Council
National Coalition of Chiefs
• Dale Swampy, President
Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2), the committee commenced consideration of the subject matter of Bill C-15, An Act respecting the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples.

Dale Swampy, Terry Teegee and Harold Calla made statements and answered questions.

At 12:00 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:13 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Abel Bosum and Dillon Johnson made statements and, with Kunuk Inutiq and Tina Petawabano, answered questions.

It was agreed, — That the committee sit past 1:00 p.m. to complete rounds of questions with witnesses.

Ghislain Picard made a statement.

Questioning of the witnesses resumed.

At 1:15 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Naaman Sugrue
Clerk of the Committee