Skip to main content Start of content

HESA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication

Minutes of Proceedings

43rd Parliament, 2nd Session
Meeting 36
Monday, May 10, 2021, 11:06 a.m. to 1:00 p.m.
Ron McKinnon, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Sonya Norris, Analyst
• Tu-Quynh Trinh, Analyst
As an individual
• Dr. Isaac I. Bogoch, Physician and Scientist, Toronto General Hospital and University of Toronto
• Dr. Peter Hotez, Professor and Dean, National School of Tropical Medicine, Baylor College of Medicine
Department of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness
• Rob Stewart, Deputy Minister
Ministry of Health of Israel
• Dr. Asher Shalmon, Director of the International Relations Division
Ministry of Health of the Slovak Republic
• BGen Vladimír Lengvarský, Minister of Health of the Slovak Republic
• Martin Pavelka, Epidemiologist
Privy Council Office
• Christyne Tremblay, Deputy Clerk
• Thao Pham, Deputy Secretary to the Cabinet, Operations
• Jodie van Dieen, Counsel to the Clerk of the Privy Council and Assistant Deputy Minister, Privy Council Office Legal Services Sector
Regional Municipality of York
• Bruce Macgregor, Chief Administrative Officer
Pursuant to the order of reference of Monday, October 26, 2020, the committee resumed its study of the emergency situation facing Canadians in light of the COVID-19 Pandemic.

Christyne Tremblay, Rob Stewart, Asher Shalmon and Bruce Macgregor made statements and, with Thao Pham and Jodie van Dieen, answered questions.

At 12:06 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:08 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Isaac Bogoch, Peter Hotez, Vladimír Lengvarský and Martin Pavelka made statements and answered questions.

At 1:00 p.m., the committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Jean-François Pagé
Clerk of the Committee